Hand to Mouth

misadventures in eating

I’m fairly convinced that Ina Gartner knows every gay man in the Hamptons.

with 6 comments

I’m not even kidding — all of them are decorators or painters or big flaming homos. The Barefoot Contessa is without question my favorite show on the Food Network. She’s elegant and deconstructive with the food — not in a creative sense, but she seems to make even pastries seem unintimidating, which is saying a lot for somebody who has been making banana bread since the sixth grade and still sucks at it.

I’m kind of unbearably addicted to the Food Network, which would be fine except that I hate half the chefs on it and most of their recipes — the only people I really like that still have shows on the channel are Michael Chiarello and Ina Gartner, the occasional episode of Everyday Italian.

I hate to be a member of the crowd but I can’t help but hate Rachael Ray. In the old days, her recipes were the sort of easy, quick whip-ups that cooks with a passing familiarity with the grocery store would see and enjoy for their convenience — these days, she’s really worn out the 30 minute meal cache and she’s making food I can’t help but call “utterly disgusting.” If I see that woman mash one more container of low-fat sour cream into her mashed potatoes, I’ll scream, I really will.

I’d talk about Sandra Lee, but honestly, this woman over at Armchair Cook covers her pretty well.

Written by lshen

October 28, 2006 at 4:45 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I still have a soft spot for the Rachael, but I completely agree that her food has gotten seriously gross. She made something the other day that included ground beef and cut up hot dogs – HOT DOGS – made into some kind of faux chili and poured over tortilla chips. I am here to tell you, that is an unholy sin against tortilla chips. And probably against ground beef, too. Totally nasty.

    As for me, I’m an Alton girl. Give me Good Eats any day. I am nursing a really bordering on inappropriate nerdy crush on him.

    omglawdork

    October 30, 2006 at 5:26 am

  2. I still like Racheal Ray, but on the other hand, I really cannot stand “The Barefoot Contessa”…I dont know what it is about her but something seems so fake.. Atleast thats how I perceive her. I also like Alton Brown, who wouldn’t like cooking for teh sake of science? But my favorite is Paula Deen.

    juniper27

    April 22, 2007 at 6:15 am

  3. You coined everything I’ve expressed verbally. I really enjoy Ina Gartner and her calm way of moving around the kitchen. She can make even an elegant meal seem so easy to put together. And she demonstrates the entire scope of entertaining, the food the table the ambiance. Michael Chiarello is also a smooth TV cooking show host. His casual natural way with food makes the audience remember how to create the food without writing down the recipe. And Giada of Everyday Italian is wonderful as well. Except I dont think she really eats any of her food. How would she possibly keep her petite figure.

    Rachel Ray is impossible to listen to. Her twang and open mouth manner of eating is repulsive. She is just annoying to me.

    Nigella Lawson has her beat by a million to one.

    agoodcookmyselfDD

    August 12, 2007 at 12:30 am

  4. Hi…..just wanted to know Ina’s email address..if she/gives it out…..

    or do I just reach her through the food network website?

    Stefani Harris

    July 19, 2008 at 6:54 pm

  5. Ina Gartner’s food is right out of Gourmet magazine for me. I use her recipes to impress clients and she is a good baker to boot, which I am not. It is true that I would like to see one of her friends who wasn’t so feminine, but the persons she has on her show know their jobs just as well. I can’t complain about other peoples sins, I have to many of my own.

    morgaqn2010

    February 9, 2009 at 7:38 pm

  6. Ina’s meatloaf recipe is the “BEST.”

    Joyce

    September 25, 2012 at 5:20 pm


Leave a Reply

